How to Ensure Your Vet Likes You; Better Service

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I really like this list and can say some of these should be used for farrier services too! I have been doing local mini equine farrier services since 2004 and I can say that some of the above bug me too!!! LIKE...

* Be prepared for my arrival...

* Have your horse caught before I get there. I dont want to waste energy chasing yours horses.

* Halters PLEASE!!! I hate that not only are horses running loose BUT the owners have either no halter or leads anywhere!

* Halter broke horses would be nice too.

* Dry areas to work in. And if its rainning or snowing, its nice to work inside not in the rain/snow.

* BE THERE! I hear so many new clients complain that their old farriers would never show on time or at all, so I expect the same as well.

* I dont mind being asked questions and explaining what Im doing or even showing a owner how to trim, BUT if you dont do regular trims and your horses feet and they are super long and most times foundered, dont expect them feet to be super short and perfect in one trim. It took time for them feet to get in that condition, and in some cases it can take time to fix them as well.

* Dont argue with me about my prices I charge. I am very reasonable and will not go cheaper just because you think you deserve a discount for having 3 or more horses. I do this cause I love to do it and help folks and their horses out, not because I need more practice and have nothing better to do with my time.

* If you ask me to be honest with my opionion and any advice, dont get offended when I give it.