How many Stallions should you have?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kimbell

Reaction score
saludando.gif
Hi, I am new in the Miniature horses. I got my first one in July 2005, and now I have 11. I have been told by my vet that I don't need to have more than 1 Stallion. I would like some opinions of the people that have them. What is a good number and how do you house them away from the girls? Thanks for any advice, Kim

I dont own any stallions, I use my aunts stallions. FOr that number of mares you dont need more then one if any at all.

My aunt currently has 2 breeding stallions and one jr stallion. We are selling one though and going to only have 2. We run 2 just because we have some mares and foals we are raising up that are off spring of our other stallion. and with all the mares in the family there are about 25 or so of them.

Too flipping many- want to buy one?? Seriously, when you are a breeder/shower you do tend to accumulate the blooming things- at the moment I have two working stallions. And they do work. As I in breed and line breed I do actually need two, unrelated, Stallions, but I am on a serious breeding programme. I have two colts, one of which is about to be gelded as he is for sale, and one of which I shall run on longer and see. Even if all you mares are of breeding age a stallion would be able to manage 11 mares easily.

I would say that that depends on where you live and if there are stallions at stud in your area. If not, you should definitely get you one stallion. If you intend to keep the foals that one stallion produces and don't want to inbreed - or linebreed, whatever you want to call it - you might want to get a junior stallion in two or three years. But generally, one good stallion will do for 11 mares I think.

Welcome to the Forum!