How do you convince them to do it?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angel_cowgirl

Reaction score
How do you convince your horse that they WANT to do Showmanship and Halter Obstacle type things?

I've been showing for several years now, and done performance some of those, and while yes I know every horse has a different personality and learning style (just like people), theres GOT TO BE some ... routine methods that can be done to get them to do things (do a 360, side pass, back a STRAIGHT line, etc.)

My gelding I used to show as much as he fell in love with halter obstalce for the life of him he would NOT go over the carousel or octopus looking obstacle that they had at some shows where the horse is suppose to walk over the ends of these poles set up in a circle. And I never could figure out how to teach him to do it, I built one but never could figure it out.

The sr. mare I'm working with for this season just seems so stubborn about some of this. I think she's making some progress but she's like 32.5" and thats big enough that she can hold her ground some. Unless I physically push her around I'm having a hard time teaching her to do a 360 degree turn or to side pass etc. I can deal with her taking huge steps instead of baby steps when I'm trying to teach her to square up her feet but this other stuff is getting kind of frustrating.

So how do you start your horses out on this stuff?

I believe that basically if I can teach a horse to pivot, the other stuff comes easily.

And I guess the next question is at what point do you know they don't like it and probably won't do it for you? I think my mare can/will learn, she's enjoying the jumping training, and she does try on some of other other stuff.

On a slightly different note, what do you use to build a tetor totter and how do you build it (like step by step)?

Hi Angel