Founder

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EquestraDreams

Reaction score
I have no experience dealing with founder, but I'm looking at purchasing a small riding pony who foundered in the front about 4 years ago. He is now 14 years old and moves sound, but is quite obese. Do you think it would be an issue if the pony was lightly ridden (walk/trot) by a 5-7 years olds a couple times a week? Is he more likely to founder again? Any experience with foundered horses would be appreciated. Thanks!

I am strongly encouraging you to have a vet check, especially radiographs all 4 hooves. Founder, depending on its severity, can cause you and the horse a lot of pain physically and in the pocket book.

I agree have a vet take a look and see if the pony would be sound enough for what you want. Founder can be mild to very severe.

I have a young mini mare that foundered on me last winter, I thought I was going to lose her. It's been 10 months now and she is almost back to normal (she'll never be completely normal, but she is doing excellent). I really have to watch her diet; she's on a restricted lo-carb diet. She gets a ration balancer and grass hay (she can't have alfalfa, it doesn't agree with her and I can't get beet pulp); no grain (especially corn for her, I think that's what set her off, corn in her beet pulp, which is why I don't buy from the local feed mill anymore), no spring grass (or anytime the sugars are high), and I really have to watch her weight and keep it down. I think she has come far in her recovery and may even be able to be trained to drive.

Nope. Sorry. I wouldn't touch this with a ten foot pole.