Driven dressage

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grace67

Reaction score
Last year I read an article in Dressage Today about a woman who was doing driven dressage with her mini, this and an upcoming knee replacement surgery inspired me to begin my journey looking for a suitable mini for driving in general. Affter many months of searching I now own two lovely geldings with very different body types and movement however each has their strengths. They've both been shown in driving and in hand classes quite extensively as well as some trail driving. I am a complete novice to driving but not new to horses (background is primarily western in both stock horse and pleasure but the past few years I've dabbled in dressage as well).

I'd really like to learn more about driven dressage but how does one go about finding a suitable instructor for it? I'm in northern California but good driving instructors are few and far between. What type of instructor should I be looking for? I want to drive a single not a team, my boys are different sizes and I'm sure I'll have enough of a time attempting to drive one much less two
default_smile.png

Does anyone here do driven dressage and if so can you point me in a direction where I can learn more about it? Is it only offered in CDE type events? Ever offered as a class on its own? Can minis be competitive in it?

You have a great resource nearby now that Leia Gibson has moved to north central California. She is an excellent guide/mentor in all aspects of CDE and driven dressage. She maintains her amateur status and does not give formal lessons, but she is extremely generous with her time and knowledge. Be sure also to join her group, CDE4VSE, on Facebook.

I'm always looking for websites and blogs that cover driven dressage. A favorite blog, although I wish she would post more frequently, is: