Donkeys as guardians

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SammyL

Reaction score
Hello all,

I was wondering how many of you use mini donkeys as guardians for your mini horses? Could you give some information on guardian donkeys?

I am moving in a few weeks to a older farmstead in MN, and since I am worried about coyotes, I thought maybe my family could get a guardian for my 2 minis. But I am new to this, and need all the info I can get!

Thanks! :saludando:

Sam

Mini's are to small to use as Guard animals. They can be hurt and killed just like minis.

If you want to use a Donkey as a Guard, you will need a standard size. But also keep into account, not all will guard.

My mini donkeys are in the 34-36" range. I would NOT be without a few jennys in each pasture. Mine will let me (and the neighbors) know whenever something is around that shouldnt be, by braying and running the fence line. Mine have also kept a 350# bear at bay, for a good week. They might be to small to actually "take on" a good fight, but the majority of the time a load noise will be a deterient in wildlife also. When we had the bear problem, I had talked to the DNR about removing him...which they wouldnt do ..until something happened! I told them about my donkeys and they also said donkeys loud brays will keep a animals away. It is true, not all donkeys will make a good guard donkey. Corinne