Conformation/Critique on my two mares

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

All Decked Out Mini Farm

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I would love to know what you guys think about my two mares. I want the truth, even if its harsh. No sugar coating it. I am new to breeding miniature horses, and want to know if I have the best, or need to look into other mares. I would love to show some minis, but I have been told mixed feelings about my two mares being show horses or not. Any help would be great.

Buckeye WCF DayDream Believer - Sorrel frame sabino overo - LWO+ - AMHR - 37"

Dream 030.JPGDream 094.JPGDream 123.JPGDream 143.JPGDream 159.JPG

Fike's Cadillac Crystal - Buckskin frame sabino overo - LWO+ - AMHA/AMHR - 31 1/2"

199370_263225560465667_2106286462_n.jpg420883_263224540465769_1215167998_n.jpg424647_263226253798931_518624024_n.jpgCrystal 035.JPGCrystal 119.JPG

Dream 155 (1).JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
To make a reasonably accurate assessment of any horse you need to see them standing square from the side on their level and one from the front and one from the back with the tail out of the way. It is also helpful to know the age of the horse. The height doesn't matter at all as conformation is/should be the same at any size.

I have mixed feelings about your mares, too, as to quality. They look like they'd be good little driving horses if they're trained to drive, but as to halter/breeding animals I'm not sure. You only give one side conformation shot of the first one, but here's my critique since you haven't gotten much in the way of replies from everyone.

First, it's apparent to me that you selected bloodlines and color when making your purchases, since that is what jumps out first to me.

But conformationally they don't hold up for me.