Can small children ride mini's

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to Mini's and new to the forum. I am getting my daughter (she's 3 almost 4,) two mini's. We have horses, but have never had mini's. I know she is going to want to ride them. Not for long, I'm only talking 10-15 minutes at a time, once in a while?? Is it OK? I have read that you shouldn't ride them, and then I have heard that is is OK for small kids to ride? So some opinions on this would be greatly appreciated. Also one of the mini's is only a year old, and the other mare is in foal, due in June. I would assume riding the mare in foal would not be a good idea, but what about the other one? Too young, or should they not be ridden at all?

Thanks and I look forward to your replies.

I wouldn't have a problem with putting a very small child on a calm full grown mini for a lead around the yard once in a while, but by that I mean toddler sized child. I would not put a 4 year old on a yearling at all. A yearling is really just a baby. At almost 4 if you want something for your daughter to ride a pony would be a much better choice.