Brutus Diary for fun

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

kaykay

I thought for fun I would do a Brutus diary here on the rescue forum. I get asked so much how to handle a never handled horse. I am not an expert! but i have brought around quite a few horses like brutus.

Day 1 (hes been here 24 hrs)

Brutus is still going crazy pacing and whinnying because hes so excited to see horses. Hes in a lot where he can see all of mine but cant touch them. Hes being lotted with bill and hilary (mini donks) Since he hasnt been with horses since 6 months of age Im not sure he knows how to interact with horses. He was really stumped with the donkeys but is doing well with them. Went to feed and he immediately turned his butt to me and shook his head. I walked away with the hay. He turned around. (that is what i want!) I walk tword him and he turns his butt to me. I walk away again. Now i go to the donkeys and pet them. Now hes really mad. I approach with the hay again and he faces me and waits. Now he gets his hay! I put the hay down and let him eat.

Dinner time. we have to go thru the whole thing again
default_smile.png
He turns his butt i walk away. Takes another 3 times before he will stand and face me.

Day 2. Breakfeast time. Only takes 2 times and he faces me. I think hes getting it. Interacting with the donkies even better.

Dinner. Again takes 2 times and he faces me.

Day 3. We have lift off! I bring breakfeast and we dont have to do the dance. He faces me and waits while I put hay down. Now i know i can start working on touching him because he respects me as the keeper of the hay
default_yes.gif
: