Breeding to a shetland?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wings

Reaction score
Hi pony people,

I'm toying with the idea of putting one of my miniature horse mares in foal to a Shetland stallion.

Problem is, I'm in Australia and there are very few over here and most dont stand to the public!

Are there many Shetland's standng at public stud via AI?

Any recomendations? (Feel free to pm me if you like)

I've had very little exposure to these stunning animals and have no shame admitting I'm a total rookie when it comes to them! I'm doing a lot of reading as I think they will be very influential on the future of the mini horses over here.

Is the Shetland there an American Shetland? Is it also double registered as a mini? What are you trying to accomplish by this breeding?

There are a few ASPC Shetlands that do AI here. But I'm not sure you would get a register able foal with your mare?

Andrea

Sorry, should have been more specific with that sort of stuff!

My mare is mini horse registered with an Australian based registry, she's 36" so is an over/B class/small horse.

My goals as a breeder have focused on producing exceptional movement on a fine build but never losing the strength to actually work. While I'm new to harness work I do hope to be producing horses that excel in both the halter and harness ring so you can see why I find the Shetlands and their influence very appealing.

As for registry two of the groups here have a third height range that includes up to 42" so I do have some height related leeway. I've also been able to register a colt by a stallion from a different registry as long as I could produce the service certificate and a copy of the pedigree.

So while the resulting foal would not be register-able with ASPC/AMHR I should be able to register it over here.