Bran Mash???

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minifarmgirl

Reaction score
I've been seeing a lot about bran mash for after foaling and collic. Is there a certain type to buy? How much do you feed and how soon after foaling do you feed it? Also, how much do you feed for collic? Do you only feed it once in each situation, or for several days.......? I've never used it before, but it seems like some good stuff to have around. Thanks!

These days you will hear more bad then good about a bran mash.

Instead try soaking the mares normal grain in hot water. Ours always loved that and slurped it right down. Just a way of getting a little extra water in them. We used the hot water since ours always seems to foal when it was still cold out.

[SIZE=10pt]Hi,[/SIZE]

There are, of course, many opionions on feeding...

IMO, introducing a 'new' feed to a horse

should be done gradually.

My horses are fed wet beet pulp every day. All I

have to do is warm it up and ta-da,, warm meal

and no sudden 'change' to their diet.

Maybe Robin C, our wonderful nutrition lady,

will see this and add some of her thoughts.
default_smile.png

Sandy

I don't use bran as their are more reasons not to feed it than there are to use it. But I always give my mares something to eat after foaling. I have some mares that get a little 'shocky' after foaling as their blood sugar is likely low from the stress they've just been through. So I feed them anything they want to eat. Soaked is good as it is easy to digest and adds some water back into their system as they have lost a lot of fluid from foaling. As Sandy mentioned, soaked beet pulp is good as well as soaked alfalfa pellets or cubes.