Beet pulp VS Bran mash

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

If you were going to add one to your feeding which would you pick and why?

• Beet pulp

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Bran mash

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

lovable minis

Reaction score
I am thinking of adding one to my feeding plan. Was told Bran is good for the bred mare. Looking for advice.

I would choose beet pulp! I have been using it now for a couple of years and love what I get from it. I did before that for a year use a bran mash. Was not really excited in any way shape or form what I got out of it, and quit because I had heard some horror stories about it. I like how my horses look with the beet pulp.

Do some research about the bran. I think beet pulp is a far better choice of feed supplements, but again, you should double check what else you are feeding to make sure you aren't creating an imbalance (though I think the risk of that is greater w/bran than beet pulp).

Liz M.

Bran on a regular basis is not a good idea - it leeches vitamins from the animal. Bran as a one off has little to be said for it, either, as there is, apparently absolutely no proof it helps digestion!! I have not used bran for years, and I do not have it so it is no longer an option. If I want bulk without food value I use chaff, otherwise I use grain- after foaling I will give a feed + electrolytes and honey, a fair bit of bulk and chaff in there as well- if the mare is OK it is just nice for her and gives her a bit of a lift (It also helps keep her still so the foal can find the spigots!!)

If she is a bit colicky I can bung pain killers in it too and it smells so good I have felt like eating it myself (Oh GO ON- it's most likely 2 am, I'm freezing cold and always hungry- ANYTHING smells good!!
default_yes.gif
: )

Last edited by a moderator: