Balanced cart...

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LindaL

Reaction score
I just bought my "new to me" show cart...an older Jerald. The tires need to be filled up, but Deb thinks the wheel is warped. I can't tell just from watching it travel while walking it because of the flat tires. Once the tires are filled, is there was way to know for sure if your cart is balanced and wheels are not warped at all? Will you feel it when driving? I am a newbie to driving, so I need help with this please.
default_unsure.png

One way to tell if a cart is balanced is to get between the shafts as though you are the horse and have someone get in and out of the cart. If the wheel is out of round, you should also be able to feel it this way.

The nice thing about Jerald's, is you can get all replacement parts.

Linda do you have a bike store near by. I think if you were to take the wheels to them they could tell you if they are warped and how badly warped. If so then you could do the shopping online to replace them. Good luck and Happy Driving. I know you and Deb are going to really enjoy it once you get started.

Are you planning to do driving at the shows or are you interested in CDE type driving? Just curious.

Marie

Linda do you have a bike store near by. I think if you were to take the wheels to them they could tell you if they are warped and how badly warped. If so then you could do the shopping online to replace them. Marie
I don't think Marie suggested to have you purchase wheels at a bike store, but just have them looked at there. Regardless, DON'T purchase bicycle wheels if they are out of round. Bicycle wheels are not designed for the sideways pressure that a cart axle puts on them, and they will "explode" sideways. Wheels are one piece not to skimp on.

Get your parts directly from Jerald or a distributer.