5 day panacur question

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am going to do the 5 day fenbendazole purge on one of my horses. I called the vet to ask about it, and he is not knowledgeable. So I called an equine center. They told me Safeguard has a larvaecide dose on the package and to use that per my horse's weight. My vet has the powder and liquid, but not the paste. I've never used anything but the paste, so I am not sure what to do. I've never done a 5 day thing before. I am assuming that Safeguard and Panacur are brand names of the same product?

Can someone advise me exactly what to do?

I haven't personally compared the labels, but my vet says they are not the same thing. That being said, I have not used the panacur. When I do the 5 days with safeguard I double the dose.

I use Safeguard for the 5-day treatment.....

I double the weight, and treat (each day) at the "doubled weight".

(So if the horse is 250 lbs..... for the 5-day treatment, dose at 500 lbs each day.)

Seems kinda odd....... but that is how I understand it should be done.
default_smile.png

Panacur and safegaurd have the same active ingrediant. To do the 5 day treatment (I usually do it after the first frost and in early spring) you do a double dose once a day for 5 days. The tractor supply Store usually has a LARGE tube (like OMG large size tube) of safegaurd between their horse and cattle stuff. Panacur can also be purchased in a box of 5 tubes, called the powerpak, same ingrediant, you just get a bulk price, its great if your doing several minis, not economical if you are only doing one mini.

I use Safeguard for the 5-day treatment..... I double the weight, and treat (each day) at the "doubled weight".

(So if the horse is 250 lbs..... for the 5-day treatment, dose at 500 lbs each day.)