Ummmm...I got milk!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trinity_Acres

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I got some questions. My mare is approximately 321 days give or take (she was pasture bred). Her belly is dropped and when I was looking her over tonight. Her bag is tight and warm. I was able to express some colostrum. I'm a newbie with this. Relatively how soon can I expect a foal? Hours or days? She's not acting laborish. I'll post some pictures of her in a little bit. She was maiden last year and aborted at 10 months. We for sure want to be there for her. I don't have a barn cam. Am I spending the night in the barn tonight??

I'm a nervous wreck!! :new_shocked: Can ya tell??? (breathe, breathe, breathe....)

Janine

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm not an expert, but I have foaled a few mares, and if she were mine, I would be spending the night in the barn. I tend to be over-cautious, but I've not lost a foal to date (KNOCK ON WOOD). Can't wait to see the pictures of her! Hard to say for sure, but it will be soon!!!

Good Luck, you'll have a baby soon!

Jodi

Here are pictures I took just about 15 minutes ago...

Peanut at 321 days???

pnut041707.jpg

pnut041707b.jpg

pnut041707c.jpg

booty.jpg

teats.jpg

teats2.jpg

milk.jpg

Bump! :new_shocked:

She looks close to me! Is her milk that you express, thick and sticky? Like syrup? If so, I wouldn't leave her. She could foal at anytime. Good luck and let us know.

BTW, I used pink vet wrap on my first three mares that foaled and I got 3 fillies! Have to get some more pink now as I only have blue and have another mare due in about a week!
default_smile.png

Yes, it's sticky...her teats still point inward tho. I'm hoping for a filly. She lost a colt last year. I'm so worried!!! Something tells me I'll be taking tomorrow off.