Training for beginners

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Earthology

Reaction score
I have now been able to bond with Pixie for a week now.

I would like to get any tips you are willing to share about training.

Is there a "MUST-HAVE" book or video I can watch?

I would like to give some background info on her, just to see where you all think I should start:

She is three years old.

Overall, she has decent ground manners. She seems sweet natured.

I will admit, I am a newbie to all of this. I am a bit hesitant about picking out her hooves.

I've ran a few "tests" and sometimes she seems OKAY with me picking up her front hooves. Yesterday, however, she tried biting me twice. She moved I was shocked. I had been reading about not letting a horse think she is the boss, So I very FIRMLY said "NO" each time. When she finally quit trying to bite, I praised her. ***I know I am nervous about picking them. Therefore, I have decided to buy some cross ties after work. I would feel safer learning this way to be honest.

Also, I thought maybe she was a bit cranky because our routine is "turn her loose to pasture each morning asap" and there I was breaking schedule trying to play with her hooves. Overall though, I want my relationship with my horse to be one of respect and kind of "hey sweetie, I need to see your hooves this morning, I know that's not on our typical schedule, but it needs done and I promise that once I get done you can go outside." That is, I want to be able to have her trained enough that things DON'T always go her way.

When walking through the yards, she always wants to put her head down to graze if I give her extra lead room. If I shorten the range on the lead she stops trying to put her head down to eat.