Spent the weekend planting spring bulbs....

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lauralee

Reaction score
I just spent the entire weekend planting trees and reworking our flower beds.

We planted:

Dahlias

Gladiolas

Hollyhocks

Peruvian Daffodils

Cannas

Lillies

I am fairly new to gardening, but I grew up with my grandmother teaching me endlessly about her flower garden...Gee wish I had listened! Please give me your tips for success with these bulbs. I live in zone 7, in East Texas. In a typical winter, we get one or two tiny (2 days maybe) spells below freezing, with icy precipitation only happening once every several years.

I know that the Lillies need some shade.

I know that the Cannas need lots of water.

I see that some of these taller ones may need staking....not sure how to stake a gladiola?

I want to add a layer of pine bark (mulch?) over the beds where I planted the bulbs....will that help or hurt?

I hope it is not too late in the season to have planted these.....some of the packages said plant in Jan/Feb. But we were still having freezing temps last month (its been a VERY unusual winter) and this was the first weekend that I could get to it.

I have read, read and reread the literature that came with the bulbs.

What are your gardeninc secrets????

Last edited by a moderator:
is it that time already?? wow you were busy!

hey what is the best kind of bulb for ground cover. is it tiger lilies?? I cant remember?? we have that creek and we got all the weeds etc down and now i need to plant something to keep it covered. its sun/shade.

Day lilies make great ground cover.

The mulch will not hurt the plants.

Glads you can use tomato cages on to "stake them".

cannas we have to dig up for the winter here (south central WI).

hollyhocks stay upright pretty well.