Silent Auction help needed!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minisaremighty

Reaction score
Our school is putting on our 3rd annual auction on April 21. We are a school of only 200 kids, mostly low income. The last two years, we raised approx. $25,000 each year, which is amazing for such a school.

This is my first year being in charge of the actual event part of the auction. I am not doing the acquisition, just the sales part of the event.

I am looking for a new method of doing the auction. In the past, they have assigned numbers to each item, made a matching bid sheet. Then at the end of the auction, all items and bid sheets are removed to another area where someone went through it all and posted the names of winners on a large board next to each item number. Well, it's NEVER run smoothly. We have approx. 85-100 items up for auction. People never remembered the number of the item they bid on. It's just chaos. The first year, I worked in the room trying to match up items to bidders and figure out who won. The 2nd year, I did the cashiering. I can see where improvements need to be made in each part.

SOOOOOO, I told them I'd never work the auction again unless I was in charge of the auction "system" and collection of money at the the event. :eek:
default_wacko.png
:

Does anyone have a system that has worked well for their silent auction? I have seen there are software programs out there, but I am certain they will balk at the expense. Is there any free program? I think a computerized checkout would be soooo much easier. Do you think a software program is the best way to go?