Showing in AMHR Sanctioned Shows

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kdbj

Reaction score
What classes can a yearling filly be shown in? I understand there is a height rule of 32 inches for yearlings as to what division, A or B, they can be shown in, correct? I am a beginner in the show world so any pointers would be appreciated!

Hi

The yearling height divisions for AMHR are as follows:

Yearling Under: 32.5" and under at the last hairs

Yearling Over: 32.5" and Over at the last hairs

Goodluck
default_saludando.gif

Leeana, I thought it is 32" and under for a yearling to show in the Under division; if the yearling is 36" & under (but over 32") then she would show as an Over.

Depending on the show the sizes may be broken down further (Nationals for instance). Our local show has only 1 under and 1 over class for yearling fillies.

Im pretty sure its 32.5" ..but i could be wrong. I showed a yearling last year and i remember it always being a toss up on him as he was right on the 32.5" line, he went back and forth between being a hair under and over.

I could be wrong though ...

Unless the AMHR Rules from 2004 have been changed, that yr . book reads: Under division - foal of current year 30" and under, yearling 32" and under, 2 yr old 33" and under, 3 yr and older 34" and under. Over division - foal current year 30-32", yearling 32-36", 2 yr old 33-37", 3 yr and older 34-38".

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm sorry, but Leanna is wrong. Please check your Rule Book!!

The height divisions for Yearlings are 32" & Under, and Over 32" to 36".

Besides the halter class for age/height, a yearling can be shown in Multi-Colour (Pinto or Appy only) or Solid Colour; halter obstacle; costume; Showmanship (although most people use an older, more seasoned horse); and Liberty. She can also be shown in Youth, Open, or Amateur as appropriate.