Show Help! Liberty and Conditioning needed!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FurstPlaceMiniatures

Reaction score
I purchased my mini really overweight with really bad hooves 3 months ago. While his hooves, weight, and temperment are good now, my question is how to get rid of his haybelly? I lunge him, round pen him, etc, but he loses weight everywhere else but his belly! He's not in showmanhsip shape.

Also, I plan on showing him in the end of May. There are liberty classes, which i have zero experience in. How would i go about training/showing him in liberty? He already comes on command, yet he's not as "fiesty" as those i see online! To me, it looks like they just stick em in the ring and chase them! Isn't there more to it?

Here's a current pic of Cloudy - a 2006 AMHR/AMHA/PtHA Blue Roan Tobiano 33" stallion! FWF Little WarDance son!

543081_10150811977533969_746753968_12025573_863787037_n.jpg

526800_10150811981528969_746753968_12025616_2110510257_n.jpg