New to mini's and need advise

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

suemahree

Reaction score
Hi Everyone from Ogallala Nebraska. I am new to the mini's. I have had horses in my life but never one like this. I have just received my baby (Maegan), she is part mini paint and part welsh pony. I was not suppose to get her until October, but her Mom died from a rattlesnake bite while they were out to pasture. The couple that had her is elderly and not able to give her the attention she required, so now I have this 2 1/2 month old filly. She is weaned and eating very well. She is broke to halter but because of her age I am wanting to know what should be next for her in learning? I have found if she is left in the pasture for long periods of time when it is time for her to go in at night she wants to run and buck even when she is on lead. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Sue

Hi Sue,

Your little filly is just doing what babies do! She'll come around as she matures! let me say this about her diet, you might want to suppliment her grain with foal lac pellets or sprinkle some milk replacer on her feed! She still need the protien from the milk replacer until she's at least 4 to 5 months old! Good luck

Bill

I would agree with Bill on upping the protein. Also you didn't mention but does she have company or is she out by herself? You might want to look into a calmer older horse that can give her some manners training and teach her the 'how to be a horse' stuff her mom would have.