lots of newbie questions

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fancyappy

Reaction score
Hello. I have some questions and would really appreciate your help. They may seem pretty silly to you but I am a newbie to the mini horse world and really need some info..

"Color."..How is the buckskin or palomino passed on. Is the mare the carrier? If a buckskin mare produced a palomino foal from a black mating. Will that same mating produce another palomino or is it not predictable to any extent?

The Appy coloration...Will appy to appy, both spotted, produce spots?

Is there a means to register an unregistered mini. One that has never had papers. I have read posts on DNA testing but would like this explained to me.

I have a ton of questions and if someone would feel comfortable allowing me to call you and let me fire away, I would be most grateful.or if you could direct me to a good website for the info that would be great.

Thanks everyone for bearing with a newbie's questions!

As far as the unregistered horse. If it is 34" or under and over 5 years old they can be hardshiped into AMHA. A mare for $600 and a stud for $1200. But this can only be done until 2013 (I think I have the date right) when the registery closes.

There is no such thing as a silly question - especially on this forum!

There is a lot more information about color on this website: http://www.horsetesting.com/Equine.htm. To produce a buckskin you need a black gene, the agouti gene (the one that makes bay and buckskin by removing black color from everywhere except the legs, mane and tail), and the cream gene (which also is needed for palomino). These genes can come from either the sire or dam. There is a coat calculator on this website that will tell you what your chances are of getting different colors based on the color of the sire and dam.