Is there anyone breeding for friesen or fell pony type miniature horse

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mo mhuirnín

Reaction score
I am new to the miniature horse world.

It seems that there is a lot of breeders concentrating on Arabian type.

Are there any breeders of minitaures with a different type like Friesen?

I've never seen a Friesen type mini. I think why people can get away with calling many minis Arabian type is that in those Arabian type minis there is more Welsh which has Arabian blood, that lends to more of a dished head and refinement.

No, IMHO you wouldn't get a friesien cross to meet miniature heights. Although there is the NSPPR registry - which I could see a AMHR Freisien cross might make the height there, or gypsy vanner cob, etc.

No, but there is a.farm in Florida that has a stallion that is black with tons of mane and feather. He really looks like a tiny friesian! Can't think of the farm name off hand, but the owners name is Jennifer Garwood I believe.

Just thought of it...Hairicane Ranch!

I have seen a photo of a black mini stallion in NY that looks like a Fresian. A forum member owned him at that time, a few years ago.

Very cute! But I'd say that looks like a very nice, typical UK Shetland Pony Stallion
default_smile.png
. The only thing Freisan looking is the colour and long mane and tail.

Last edited by a moderator:
I would love a mini with tons of feathers. One of my favorite big breed is Gypsy Vanners - in fact I named my dog Gypsy since she is black and white and a big dane mix!

Very cute! But I'd say that looks like a very nice, typical UK Shetland Pony Stallion
default_smile.png
haha, thats what I thought, looks just like my fat shetland I used to own.

What about if you got a black black mini and grew the mane and tail out and plaited them? Probably the closest you get