I'm really new to this! I would really appreciate a word or two of advice and some answers!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DarbyT

Reaction score
Around February we bought a mini mare. We bought her in plans to breed her to our mini stallion who we rescued from abuse a few years back. She never came into season and began to look a little chubby! <3 so we started to keep an eye on her. Well the days of her pregnancy have come to an ending point. Her bag is full and tight and her belly is swollen and dropped. we have been patiently waiting for the foal to make its debut. Here's where it gets tricky though; all of our full sized mares have had quick deliveries and have been totally textbook. But our dear Molly isn't following the rules! Her PH dropped to a 6.2 3 DAYS ago, and then went back UP to a 7.8! We have been watching her and she seems to be having contractions, not hard, but nonetheless. this has been happening since Monday night. It seems like she is trying to get the foal positioned but its been so long. None of our other mares took this long. Has this happened to any of you? Is everything sound fine? Is this normal? I'm so new to this and I'm not sure!

Remember, mini mares PICK THE TIME to deliver. They can start labor and stop -- whatever they choose.

If her pH has dropped and now gone up again, makes sure she has lots of outside tme to get her rolling done to position the baby? Has she had any discharge at all?

Could you post a pictue of her please -- from the back looking down her sides (at her level) and then a full side view at her level.

What color is the inside of her vulva? Pink is not ready -- you're looking for RED which usually means she imminent.