how do you handle colds?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jjnov

Reaction score
I have a stallion who gets sick VERY easily. The first really cold, cold front came threw a few days ago, and now he is sick, with snots, and coughing some. Just some background details, he was attacked by dogs as a yearling, and then while healing his false nostrils collapsed, had surgery, threw his bite off, and he snores 24/7(he at times has to breathe threw his mouth, especially while eating). So this is why he gets sick easily. Im determined to not use a vet as I was a vet tech for 3 years, small and large, and was curious as to what you all use to deal with cold. I plan on giving him Penicillian once a day.

Being a vet tech you probably already know that if what your little guy has is a Virus, all you can do is treat the symptoms to help him feel better.........Antibiotics won't do diddleesquat.

For the coughing, we use human Robitusin syrup....the plain stuff just for coughs alone. For an adult mini they get an adult dose.

If we feel one of our horses is having immunity problems for whatever reason, we give them Lixitonic for a boost. Red Cell is okay, but I like Lixitonic (sp) a little better.

MA

Keep him rugged through the winter?
he has a blanket, but its too hot here to keep on him 24/7. It gets in the 80's during the day, and last night was VERY hot and humid, so is today. We have a cold front coming in Friday night, so he will be blanketed then.

Being a vet tech you probably already know that if what your little guy has is a Virus, all you can do is treat the symptoms to help him feel better.........Antibiotics won't do diddleesquat.

For the coughing, we use human Robitusin syrup....the plain stuff just for coughs alone. For an adult mini they get an adult dose.