How do you 'clean up the mane?'

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

circlec

Reaction score
Someone mentioned that they'd like to see my ASP's mane cleaned up a bit. If you'd like to look at the pics, the thread is in the Pony Talk section and it's called 'Serious Confo Opinions Please.'

Now, keep in mind I have no experience showing ASP's or Minis. The only showing I know is AQHA. On that note, what do you guys do to the mane and what do you use? And what would your tips be as far as my pony is concerned? Also keep in mind that I will be showing him in open pony halter 53" & under in local shows. He is not registered that I'm aware of, so no breed shows for us.

Another question... since it's an open pony halter class, could I just put a western type show halter on him and show him in western attire like I would at an AQHA show (kind of like a stock type pony) or whould that be dumb??

Thanks in advance =)

Hello...

The forelocks are usually cut down so there is less hair, by either making the bridle path continue forward, or trimming some of the shorter, fluffy hair from the underside of the forelock. It doesn't have to be as thin as a pencil, but a thick, fluffy mane and forelock isn't generally desired in the halter ring. The less hair, the less gel you will have to squish into it. I am assuming in the AQHA you generally cut down the forelocks, I see mostly the pencil-thin ones in the halter horses.