Hoof Trimming

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wiggy

Reaction score
Please pardon any mistakes I make here, I'm new to this message board thing...

I have a colt who may be toeing out slightly... a bit hard to tell with all this winter hair... I do trim his feet myself simply because it's been impossible to find a competant farrier around here... what would be the correct way to trim to help straighten him out slightly? I know doing too much can cause more harm than good... but I believe he is still young enough that I could make some margin of improvement... just not entirely sure how one does corrective trimming like that... and I dont want to be "experimenting" to figure it out either.

Thank you.

I am not an expert, but my husband and I do trim all our own minis.

When we have one that toes out a little, we take a little more off the outside edge of the hoof. That has worked well for our horses, but again, I am not an expert.

We had trouble getting farrier who were willing to do our minis and started doing them every other time ourselves and eventually got to the point where it worked best to do them totally by ourselves.

when do you need to start hoof trims for the first time?
default_unsure.png
: My filly is 5 months old, and I have no idea about this. How can you tell when they need it done, and should she be having hers done already? She seems to walk just fine as far as I can tell. What exactly does "toeing out" mean? Please excuse my ignorance!!
default_blush.png
:

Southernmother,

It depends on your horse. Our 2006 filly has had her feet trimmed three times and she is only 5 mos old.

We have a farrier come trim our horses for us.When the farrier comes if they need trimming he trims them,but if not he don't trim them.My husband and I hope to learn how to trim ourselves one day.

Good luck,

MELISSA