Halter Breaking 5 month old foals

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdhand

Reaction score
I am wanting suggestions. I have 4 babies that have not been handled. They come to the barn and are fed. They have seen people, but have not been handled. When you put them in a stall and corner them they go crazy. Anyway I need to halter break them and they are ready to be weaned. I got the weaning thing, but the hands on thing I am not sure about. Should I just get a halter on them and start walking, or should I try to build trust or what? I had a coggins pulled on one the other day and it rared and went all to pieces when we got the halter on it. Usually I start handling them at a month or before, but this year my situation has been where I was not able. Look forward to hearing your comments.

I'm not an expert but I have dealt with some "wild" babies that were that way when they came to me.

If I were dealing with the situation you have, I think after the foals were weaned and adjusted to being off "mom", if possible, I would separate them from each other so that the four of them live just by themselves (for individuals alone, not all four together but appart from others).

Then I'd work with haltering and leading them. If you can find break away halters that would really break away if the foals got caught on something, I'd leave one on them, and maybe even a small catch strap depending. And just try to work w/ each of them 5 or so minutes a couple times a day.

From what I've seen with my own wild babies, letting them stay together and then trying to catch one out of a group of "wild babies" just doesn't work well. They play off each other and get more excited and worked up, but one on one, I've been able to make really fast progress in the past.

Good luck!

Jil