Getting horse used to the breeching

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moriah

Reaction score
I'm new to driving and basically still reading alot and watching alot. One thing has me puzzled.

I can imagine how you would help a horse to learn about the shafts and about the sensation of pulling something and about the bit, etc. For the life of me, I can't figure out a safe way to introduce them to the breeching and learning how to brake when something is pushing them from behind. I'm pretty sure my horses would panic the first time they felt this. They already like to pull things, but I'm not brave enough to try this part of the harness on them. Actually, they don't mind wearing the breeching and the crupper is accepted, too. It's just the feeling of having the cart push them from behind that concerns me.

Any advice?

I recommend getting a kick strap. Sandee at Iowa Valley Carriage for $30 with shipping. http://www.iowavalleycarriage.com/index.php Best thing I ever bought. My guy would kick and buck to get away from the pressure, which was extremely dangerous. With the kick strap Jay was able to learn how to use the breeching properly when going down hill, since he could no longer buck to get away from the pressure. Now he's going downhill properly and never tries to buck or kick, but I still use the strap just in case. Here's an article on the strap http://portraitswithhorses.com/blog/?p=1251 .