Feeding STRATEGY HEALTHY EDGE to minis

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Little Wolf Ranch

Reaction score
I have been feeding STRATEGY for many years now and love the consistency of the feed and the ease of usage. I am considering using the new STRATEGY HEALTHY EDGE to my almost 17yo QH and my minis that range from 2 to almost 16 yo.

I was reading the pamplet on it and for a 600# horse in maintenance condition with minimum activity to be fed 2# per day. It does say to feed no less than 0.30# per 100# of body weight per day. So how do you like it and do you find your minis do well on it? It has 12.5% protein 8% fat 18% fiber. It is also a low starch and sugar feed.....

Also, if you were using this for your 2yo and up horses what would be the best for the weanlings and yearlings? I am thinking maybe strategy gx formula?

Thanks so much

Healthy edge is for horses ages 2 and up that dont need as many calories as young horses do. we feed strategy to our weanlings and yearlings as the Equine Jr went thru the roof here price wise. All of ours look great on it.

Copied from Purina

ST. LOUIS, Mo., May 21, 2010) – Purina announces the launch of Strategy® Healthy Edge® horse feed, a nutritionally-balanced diet formulated to support the health and well-being of adult horses ages two years and older. Horse owners can sign-up for an exclusive free trial bag of Strategy® Healthy Edge® horse feed online through June 30, 2010 at www.PurinaDifference.com.