Do You Prefer Straight Or Curved Shafts?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

starlasstable

Reaction score
I don't know if this topic has been asked before. I haven't yet learned to drive my mini's, but I have a lot of experience ground driving in the past. Anyway, someone recently told me not to ever get the curved shafts since the reins get caught on them all the time. Thinking on it, I wondered why they are sold if this is true, and something with the harness setup or cart and shaft height must be at play for that to happen. So any insight any one of you can give would be wonderful.

I don't think I've ever seen curved shafts. I would say straight are better and less room for error.

My farm wagon shafts curve down at the ends (is this what you mean by curved?). I think they are great on that application. I have never had the reins get caught even once. I also have 3 carts (1 show and 2EE) that have straight shafts. I do not think I would like curved shafts on a cart. I just don't think it would look right. I can see where on a cart, curved shafts could be a problem since even with straight shafts the reins can get caught. I am sure a horse could get quit good at catching the reins.

A nyumber of carts have curved shafts--our Smart Carts do and I know there are others that do as well--and I can't say that getting the lines caught on the shafts is a problem. If your lines are going to get hooked on a shaft they can do it on a straight shaft too.

If it is a problem you can get the shoulder strap replaced with one that has the rein terrets on it--that will help to keep the lines up away from the shafts. It's also a good idea to keep the horse focused & forward; allowing him to dawdle along with his head down, reins droopy, is asking for trouble--because that is when your lines are most likely to get caught up on a shaft.