Ways to geld a colt

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bullockcorner

Reaction score
O.K, I finally decided it's o.k. to look stupid if I want a question answered!
default_laugh.png

My story is the same as most - I'm new to the minis, but had big horses all my life. My sons also raise and show Boer goats. When we wether (geld) a male goat, we band it - use a specific tool with thick "rubber bands" that are made for this purpose, that are placed above the scrotum, encircling the skin that connects it to the body, to cut off the blood supply. As anyone with livestock knows, this is a common practice with goats, sheep, calves, etc. The goats walk around stiffly for a few minutes after the band is placed until it supposedly becomes numb, and then we never see any other concern over it. With the circulation to the scrotum cut off, that tissue eventually dies, dries up, and falls off. I know this probably sounds horrible to people who don't have livestock, but it's actually very humane, and after a few moments of discomfort at first, the animal never seems bothered by it. My question is, would/could we do this with a mini colt? They are much smaller than a calf when you do it, and it just seems like it would be so much easier on them than having to knock them out; cut them open; have the swelling and soreness for days; and loss of blood.

Also, there is the money issue. Now, don't anyone start on me about this - I take EXCELLENT care of all my animals - they are UTD on shots, worming, any vet care, and eat high dollar feed and hay. But, if I can save myself a vet bill by banding and giving a tetnus shot myself AND make it easier on the horse, why not?

I just want to know if there is anything wrong with this since I've never heard of anyone doing it with horses.

Thanks for any replies.