Trailering and Event Supplies

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Renolizzie

Reaction score
Okay, so I have signed up for a local event that is about 40 miles away. It is a trail clinic and challenge. I will be doing the in hand obstacles clinic and challenge. It looks like we will be able to drive the carts as well but I am just going to watch that challenge. I am totally new at horses. I am not sure what to bring with me. I practiced driving the trailer and I think it will be fine unless I have to back up. I'll try to get more backing up practice in before I go next weekend.

I probably should bring a water bucket and his grass hay. His senior food supplement and his food dish. The cart, of course, and his harness. [Oh, and I probably bring a few apples and carrots, his faves:) ] His grooming supplies. Maybe an extra halter. His long rope and his lead ropes.

I am really hoping someone there will be able to help me out with the breeching. There is a bunch of straps but I haven't a clue how to put them together. It looks like there will be several people there with minis.

Should I get a hay net? Should I get one of those flat sided buckets and some sort of hanger for the bucket for his water? Should I try to bring a pan big enough to put his hay in?

He will be staying overnight in a pipe corral and I will be coming home to eat and sleep and then driving back early in the morning. I'm worried about leaving him there because I like to worry. I'm sure he'll be fine.

Any hints, tips, suggestions????

You need: food, food and water buckets and hangers, halter, lead, grooming supplies, fly repellent, cart and harness (someone will be glad to help you out, just ask!)