Tired of waiting

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pepperhill

Reaction score
Our little Jenny is on day 360 of her gestation. She has a bag that seems to be getting bigger, but it never gets full and/or hard. I check it several times a day and it never changes. WHEN is this animal going to foal!!! She looks like the foal dropped last week as her shape changed dramatically. This is our first donkey foal so I'm not familiar with their signs. I've done some reading, but it isn't the same as experience! How long is an average gestation? Are their any other signs I should be watching for? Help

Haha I knwo that feeling. Jason has a foal due any day, he has been saying it will be tonight for 2 weeks.....lol. I am new at this so I cant give you and advice. Sorry

Jennys sure like to keep there owners in suspense, dont they? :bgrin
default_yes.gif
: Most of mine went close to 12 1/2 months. Can you post a picture of her bag? Have you checked her vulva for color changes? If you noticied that she dropped, the baby is most likely getting in position to be born. How are her nipples? (inverted or sticking straight out). Cant wait to see baby pictures of the new arrival
default_yes.gif
:
default_wub.png
: Corinne

Mine have always foaled pushing 13 months. The last one started bagging up at least a month before and a day or so before foaling her bag was tight as a drum. Check her vulva/crotch daily ....you'll notice it getting very loose right before birthing too.