Show ponies

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

littlearab

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to this fourm.. I've been on the miniature horse fourm for awhile. But I have always loved the shetlands.

I breed miniatures, and really prefer the class Bs. Most of my mares are 35-38" tall. I bet some are even over if I checked.. purchused them registered but never measured them myself.

I've been thinking allot this pass year of buying a shetland stallion to cross with my taller B mares.

Could anyone here give me any advice as to wheather this is a good idea??

If I do this what bloodlines would be best??

well i have my favorite shetland bloodlines and some cross better on certain miniatures then others. But it depends on what your mares are. Seth Thomas shetlands are smaller which might be good for you as your mares are pretty tall. YOu want to be sure you are producing foals that stay under 38 or else they will be grade since you cant put them in the shetland registry. Be sure the stallion is aspc/amhr or else you cant register foals.

Heres the bloodlines we are crossing

Seth Thomas

Michigan

Winks

JJ's Painted Apache

King lee (getitia)

Owsley Fork

Ill be posting new pics today of my aspc/amhr jr stallion at natinals. Ten L's Tigers Back in Black