Roachback ... Standing Under himself... Maybe??

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hsrascal

Reaction score
Hello all -

I am new to the mini world and my first miniature is a bit of mystery conformation wise for me. I've had him about 3 weeks and he is an ultimate joy to own but he is underweight and wormy (maybe hay belly but I have $$$ on worms) To me, he seems to stand under himself when in pasture a lot and appears roachy in the back. I don't think he had an injuries but he's new to me so it's possible.

What he does have is severe thrush in his front left hoof. It is painful for him and being treated now. I didn't know until the farrier came out for him a few days ago

This is a picture of him from about... 3-4 months old.

395432_10150617930194551_500329550_8847453_307488792_n.jpg

Here you can kind of see the way he stands, though the sheet hides 90% of his body (sorry haven't had a chance to really attack him with a camera yet for a better shot of it).

407370_10150606508424551_500329550_8822118_1408140867_n.jpg

Could a roach back appear out of that? He looks fine to me in the first photo and it's been less than 4 months...

Could it be his lack of weight making it look that way?

Do you think the pain in his front hooves causes the sucked back stance?

Anything obvious I'm missing here?

All opinions are welcome. I'd really like to show this guy and would hate for a serious conformation flaw to be a reality
default_sad.png

Thanks!

You'll probably have to get a better picture of him to show what you are talking about. When you take the picture, get down to his level (usually kneeling works pretty good). Try for fairly square with one side or the other, or even a 3/4 side shot works pretty good (head/shoulder slightly closer to the camera than the hindquarters).