Miniature Show Horse Feeding

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to the AMHR world and putting my miniatures on diets and want to know your opinion on a diet to get them to lose weight please.

Right now my 2 miniatures (1 is a 2002 mare & the other is a 2011 gelding) get for feeding:

Mare:

AM: 1/2 cup Stradegy

PM: 1/2 cup Stradegy, 1 Tablespoon Loose Minerals(just started tonite) & 2 Tablespoons Flaxseed.

And 1/2 flake(1lb) of grass hay

Gelding: 1 cup of Stradegy AM/PM

PM he gets the same Loose Minerals & Flaxseed as the mare.

1/2 flake (1lb) grass hay

In the AM they are put together in a dirt paddock and I put 1 flake out there for them to share.

I am also showing my moms mini mare who is pastured with my aunts mini.

That mare gets...

AM: 1/2 cup Stradegy - outside with the other mare my mom puts 1 flake each for them so 2 flakes.

PM: 1/2 cup Stradegy with 1 Tablespoon Loose Minerals(started tonite) & 2 Tablespoons Flaxseed

*****I am wondering what your opinion is on feeding miniatures. The 2 mares I will be showing are A division horses (bay/dun & grey mares) and a B division gelding(ch. pinto).

The pics were taken....ch. pinto(July), bay/dun(Sept) & grey(Oct). **I am new at setting them up so I am not sure if I have them out too far or what..still learning.
default_smile.png

What would you recommend for their diets? Grain change?

Thanks.
default_smile.png

IMG_0076a.jpg

IMG_0015.CR2.jpg

IMG_0137.JPG

I'm not sure you're feeding enough. How much do you think they weigh? They should get 1.5% of their weight daily in feed, on average. My show horses are usually getting some sort of exercise daily and get more than 2% of their weight in feed.

When I fed Purina Strategy I was feeding a pound or two a day.

Also, exercise and conditioning plays a big part of their overall tone.