Local "open" show

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrescentMinis

Reaction score
I'm brand new to showing, and planning to enter 2-year old Zoey in the NW miniature horse club show July 5th/6th. I just noticed there is an "open" show at the Mt. Hood Equestrian Center near me this weekend, with mini classes plus everyone else.

Do any of you ever enter these types of shows? Would any winnings mean anything relevant to showing in the AMHA/AMHR shows (points or ?)?

If I take her I would be looking at it as pure practice to get some of the rough edges off both of us and not look as amateur at the Minimac show in July. Or I could just check it out myself to see what halter people are doing, now that we are training at home.

Last edited by a moderator:
Oh Yes! They are fun and you really do learn a lot. Such as some horses get very grabby in the ring, if they expect treats. Of creep up on you. Or maybe you might stand too close to your horse so that it doesn't extend its neck like it should. Things that are nice to work on in a less stressful situation. We used to do the open shows all the time when we started, in classes against big horses. It was fun and we learned a lot! Good luck Faithie and tell us how you do!

These are the shows that we do and enjoy so much.

We started showing at the Gulf Coast Quarter Horse Association open show in 2003. A friend and I went to one show with two miniatures and walked into the arena with the quarter horses not knowing anything about showing in halter.

Well it was such fun and the association was impressed that we showed up to all the shows that they voted in miniature halter classes for us.

I won 1st place over all in All age Miniature Mares and won a gold and silver belt buckle.

We have such fun and now we are getting the kids involved in showing.