How to install heat tape on water pump

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SilverRidgeMinis

Reaction score
Last year we had a deep freeze for about two weeks and my water pump froze up. No heat

tape to be found at the stores. This year I going to get some now! How do you install the

heat tape on the pump? Are you suppose to bury part of it under the ground? How much should

I buy for about 3 feet of pipe coming out of the ground?

As you can tell I have never used heat tape before so I need some advice.

Freida

Please be more specific.

Is your water pump outside or in the barn or building?

Is it freeze proof to begin with?

Do you mean a frostless spicket?

If you are talking about that, the water pipe, it has to be buried below your freeze line set in a lot of gravel in order to drain, about 5 gallons worth of gravels. You don't need heat tape as long as the water can drain down. You have to remove your hose every night.

Yes, it is outside water pump that is suppose to be freeze proof. It never froze up before last year and we have had it for four years now. I think maybe I didn't get the pump closed good because we had ice storm too and it was really hard to move. I had to carry water last year for almost two weeks with a finger on one hand in a split I wasn't suppose to get wet. You can just image how much fun (not) that was.

Maybe I need to buy more gravel and put on around the base of it or would limesand

do the trick. Some of the dirt washed away and could have made it easier to freeze last year. I just don't want to repeat last year.

I never leave the hose on it. I know better than to do that since the water hose would freeze.

Thanks,

Freida

The gravel needs to be below frost level