How do you look for Dwarfs in Pedigree?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dandy

Reaction score
I have tried to read through the other posting on breeding dwarves. I am relatively new to this and many have mentioned in that posting, bloodlines that have known dwarves. I saw the pic of Lord of the Isles which is way back in one of my mini's pedigree. So now I'm scared. Is there a list somewhere of these "known dwarves" that were bred? Well known, popular bloodlines keep being mentioned, but nothing specific. I know about tiny tim from previous postings. I would like to do research on mine, but don't know where to start. Not trying to start a "hooplah" just want to get some info.

Dandy, In my opinion, the more generations between your horse and the "horse in question", on your pedigree, without incident of genetic dwarf,..the more likely your horse may have escaped the dwarf gene. In any event if you get no awnsers to this quest of yours, you may pm me, and I have a friend that has studied this subject extensively, that can help inform you.
smile.gif
Being educated on the subject of dwarf producers, will help one make more informed decisions, when it comes to the selection of new additions, as well as safer breeding choices.

Last edited by a moderator:
I think you will just have to study old pics of horses in past pedigrees and talk to folks a lot who are familiar with some of the 'old timers' and what they looked like, etc....

I have never seen a photo, but I would almost bet that BOND BULLDOG was a dwarf.Look at a bulldog face&then look at a dwarf face.Does anybody know about him?I have had more than my share of dwarf foals&from some parents you would never even think by looking at them.

I have been in minis since 1985 and no of no place that there is a list of dwarves.