Hoof turned out, cow hocked?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Whispering_Pines

Reaction score
Hello Everyone-

I was working with Tilly today and really noticed she is turning her left rear hoof out. I immediately thought she hurt herself, I am weaning her right now. No injury, no warmth, no pain, no lameness and she can surely run yet. My dad whom as had horses his entire life, said she looks like she is cow hocked. She needs a trimming, but her hooves are not terribly long. Our farrier was due to come out this week. It had taken her quite some time to get up on her back legs, but she is up on them nicely now. I have no knowledge on this condition or even is that is what it is. Any reassuring would be great.

Val

If your farrier is coming out this week, that is good, as she may just need a corrective trim to get her foot in good alignment. In my experience, even when we don't think they need a trim, sometimes as the babies grow they go through some strange 'angles' and just need a bit of a correction done by the farrier to get them standing up straight with feet going in the correct direction.

I would just discuss it with your farrier this week, and see what he suggests.