Farm names

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GrandmaC

Reaction score
I some species registration associations and registries you also need to

register your farm name. (flock, herd, rabbitry, etc)

How is it with Mini's? Once you join whatever registries you're going to is there a

place you register your farm name? Or do you not?

(Can you tell I'm new at this?)

Driving home last night I came thought of a name, came home and googled it in many different manors

and there doesn't seem to be a Mini farm with that name already.

Is there a place one can go and check and see if a name is being used?

You can pay a fee in the AMHA (and I believe in R) for your ranch name to be solely yours. You don't have to, but you can if you want to be certain no other ranch uses your name.

I don't know of any one place to check out farm NAMES, but AMHA and AMHR each allow you to register (for a fee, which can change) a PREFIX to use when you register your animals. For example, our farm name is On Target Miniatures (registered as an LLC in our state) and we reserved the prefix "OTM" with both AMHA and AMHR. Hope that helps.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't know of any one place to check out farm NAMES, but AMHA and AMHR each allow you to register (for a fee, which can change) a PREFIX to use when you register your animals. For example, our farm name is On Target Miniatures (registered as an LLC in our state) and we reserved the prefix "OTM" with both AMHA and AMHR. Hope that helps.
Yes- that is what I was referring to, but didn't say it quite right- thank you for clarifying.

You can check on the ASPC/AMHR website by logging into the members are first then go to "prefix" or "suffix" report to see if your name is reserved.If not you can pay the fee and reserve the name