Drove him for the FIRST TIME!!!

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VerticallyChallenged

Reaction score
So we drove my mini gelding for the first time yesterday...he was AMAZING! I have been waiting for this moment for a long time..... and Magic acted like he's been doing it his whole life! I don't have a photobucket acct to post pictures on here, not sure how otherwise, so you can just see pics on my website at www.glacierridge.com/magic.

I know the breastcollar is too low, I need to punch some holes to raise it up.... if you see anything else wrong, I'm new to this, so would appreciate any friendly feedback! I thought, too, that the shafts need to either be level or slighly uphill. By the pics, it looks like the shafts here were slightly downhill.... therefore putting more weight on his back, right? I have not looked to see if I can adjust the length of the holders...

I have been grounddriving him since last summer, and for the past month getting him accustomed to having the cart next to, and behind him. After him doing so well walking in between the shafts without being hitched to the cart, I figured it was time. He got lots of lovin's afterwards, for being such a GOOD boy!

Angie

www.glacierridge.com/magic

Sorry I cannot post pics on here....but they are there!

Congratulations!!!

It is a rush, huh??? So far, I've only trained one of my own to drive (have had many professionally trained), but I will never forget the rush the first time I drove my own home-trained mare!

I think you are on the right track regarding raise the breast collar and the shafts. I know when I used to video tape myself riding, I'd see a lot of things watching the video that helped me see what I should change, just like with you seeing the pictures of your boy hooked up.

Keep up the good work!!!

Jill