Breeding & Foal Raising Help?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rose Hollow

Reaction score
I have been riding since I was able to walk, but the second I came across the miniature horse breed I was mesmerized.

Just recently we traveled to a miniature farm near us and I absolutely fell in love with a little blue-eyed paint mare- an in foal one at that!

While I have a lifetime experience of working with horses, I have none with taking care of a pregnant broodmare, nor delivering a foal or raising one.

The closest we came to that was buying a weanling quarter horse, so I'm a bit lost as you can imagine!

I would love some help being walked through the process, and any books on the subject would be well appreciated!

Thank you!

Hi and welcome! I am no expert but Blessed are the Broodmares (sorry forgotten the author)is a great one to start off with, some people here have good stuff on their websites too.
default_smile.png

Welcome to the world of mini's
default_biggrin.png
Im no expert either sorry..iv only had 2 foals myself so will leave that to the more experianced but like you i also bought a mare in foal as a lifetime (wife) companion for my mini stallion soon to be gelding
default_wacko.png
which iv had from a foal who is now 17..theyr alot of fun but very addictive Im no longer allowed to browse the miniature pony sales or classified adds
default_no.gif
out of bounds just incase i might just see a tiny little face that i cant resist to take home
default_rolleyes.gif
..you'v come to the right place to find out all you need to know about looking after your mare while pregnant through the birth and beond..there are some lovely people only to willing to share theyr knowledge and own experiances as i found out first hand..best of luck with your new pony and CONGRATULATIONS
default_aktion033.gif