Question about bridle path grooming

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Country Lady

Reaction score
This may be a silly question however as a newbie I must ask. The bridal paths are trimmed to what length? I have read the length of there ears if laid back. However I see so many stunning show horses online that have a much longer bridal path, what is the length supposed to be for showing? Thank you!!!

It all depends on the length, and set of your horses neck. Horses that have longer necks or higher head sets can have shorter bridal paths. For example:

Super2.jpg

This would probably be about as short as you would want to go, as you can see his mane falls with the natural curve of his neck.

This pic isn't the best but this mare's neck doesn't come out of her shoulders quite as high as the other horse so she holds it lower and therefore her mane is clipped back a bit further to help accentuate her neck.

IMG_1536.jpg

Hope this helps!

So you do not have a mane???
default_rolleyes.gif

I go the length of the ear, folded back, and then jiggle.

Remember, you can always take a bit more off but you cannot stick it back on!

So you do not have a mane???
default_rolleyes.gif

I go the length of the ear, folded back, and then jiggle.

Remember, you can always take a bit more off but you cannot stick it back on!
And thats fine to just do general bridle path clipping just take the ear back and clip to the tip.

However if you went to a show at the US people take off alot more.

For example if you look at the 1st picture thats about as far back as I would go. Maybe a little bit more but not by much. It goes down to the point of the shoulder.

Now the 2nd picture thats a little bit more off then I take. I did that this year to my gelding he looked like that and I don't know why I took it down that far and I didn't care for it.