Kinda of strange question.

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
L

ladybug_and_payton

I am very new to the whole mini horse thing. But love every min of it. I have a 10 year old mare who is pregnant. I have been noticing for a little over a month ago her tail keeps getting stained with poop. I just thought she was not raising her tail or something. Well about a week after I noticed this she went down with colic. The vet is preety sure she had sand colic. Which we have done the steps to correct it so hopefully it wont happen again. Well yesterday i was washing her off and noticed everytime she farts she pooped a little. I am just worried that she may have intestane problems or just the fact of stress or being pregnant. I dont want to have to call the vet out unless i have to. Cause I am still paying the vet bills for the colic episode. I mainly don't want to call him out unless i really need to cause he kinda acts like I am crazy cause I call him all the time cause i worry about stupid stuff. Thanks

Sorry if this sounds really stupid. I am new to the whole mini horse thing or horses period.

I'm really not sure, but to help others help you... How big is she (height? and weight if you know)? What and how much is she currently being fed? when was she last dewormed and with what product?

Hopefully, someone will have some ideas for you.

Last edited by a moderator:
I will just throw out some ideas.

Maybe her stool is looser now due to whatever the vet treated the colic with?

Maybe she is overweight and/or has excess gas?

Does she seem to be uncomfortable?

Maybe this leakage is normal for her? I had a mare that was always messy looking around the butt and normally had loose stools.

I have no experience with sand colic so no thoughts from me there
default_yes.gif