Where can I purchase...

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Annabellarose

Reaction score
I bought myself a (good beginner's quality) Miniature Horse harness. It has open loop tugs (it does not have wrap straps, nor is there a place for adding them) and a full breeching. I will be using it both with an easy entry cart with shaft stops as well as a show cart with shaft stops. It is by no means a fine show harness, but I am going to test the show "waters" in it anyway as it is a pleasant looking harness and I am just starting out in the Miniature Horse show world and I would like to "get my feet wet" before I decide to invest in a more expensive fine show harness. I do use a full breeching at home, but when I show I probably will not show with a breeching (as seems customary in the breed ring; how unfortunate). For showing I would like to locate, purchase, and use a false breeching. I have been looking around on the internet and I am struggling to locate a Miniature Horse size false breeching. Any recommendations? Do any of you use a false breeching in the absence of a full breeching while in the show ring? I am worried that with open loop tugs the cart will run up on the horse without breeching. The shaft stops alone do not seem adequate enough to me. Your thoughts and experiences please.

Last edited by a moderator:
Your thoughts are sound- shaft stops are not sufficient with open tugs and you do in fact need some sort of breeching to be safe. I have not tried false breeching previously but will the next time I hit the breed ring as I believe it would help my horse to back the cart. I plan to have a local leatherworker make one for me based on a picture from Sally Walrond's book and that should work nicely.
default_smile.png