Running Eyes

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lucky

Reaction score
The last couple of days Lucky, our new 10 year old geldiong has been having clear running eyes. Once I noticed his nose was running a bit, but, cleared later in afternoon. Could it be allergies? Or is it brought on by the cthe change of temperature. Hmmm.... do I just watch it to see if anything else develops or if it continues in a couple of days? I'm new to horses so don't know.... When I searched on yahoo, someone said it was probably flys.... REALLY.... flys irritating his eyes??? They suggested I put fly spray on my hand and rub on his face???? REALLY? Thank for your help.....
default_wacko.png

yup, could be flies...nothing wrong w/putting fly spray on face..just be careful around the eyes. I know you are new to minis but they do make several different types of fly masks for your mini too. Swat is another thing I like to use on their faces and around muzzle.

Its expensive but a good product to have around the barn too is a bottle of Vetricyclene (sp?) its blue and comes in a spray bottle 29.00, they make one for pink eye but when I called company its safe for just itchy or irritated eyes. Sometimes you can even get up close and look cross ways in to the eye and see if there is gunky crappy stuff that just might be irritating....or perhaps a lash has been bent back and is in the eye...wierd I know but it happens.

all that said I am very careful w/eye problems and if it persists for more than a few days I would have a vet come out and look. Eye ulcers are not something you want to mess with IMO. Good Luck