Pregnant Stud?

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Merogsrha

Reaction score
P2210938.JPG

It's pretty sad when my rescue stud has a bigger belly than the pregnant mare! He has been wormed since his got here, and is only getting a small bit of mini horse and pony feed with grass hay. Can anyone tell me why he has this size of a belly, and how to try and tone him down a little??

P2210936.JPG

I don't claim to be an expert on this but it could be from lack of protein. Try feeding alfalfa instead of grass hay. If he was very wormy he may need an extra dose of wormer.

I was honestly thinking that was going to be the first thing- protein. Now, I am FAR from a nutrition expert- but more protein comes from alfalfa, correct? **ETA- Sorry, had a total brain fart between reading your reply and typing my own LOL! I see you clearly wrote more alfalfa, less grass hay
default_smile.png

Also ETA, He is scheduled for his second dose of wormer this weekend
default_smile.png

Last edited by a moderator:
If his care has been less than stellar you might try giving him a probiotic and then add brewers yeast to his feed. Also when you say a small bit of mini/pony feed I'm not sure I understand what you mean. I don't think you will get good results from feeds unless they are fed according to the amount to body weight instructions given by the manufacturer, so I would try to get a good idea of his best weight and then weigh his feed and hay.

Protein does not have to come from alfalfa , it can, but you can also use a ration balancer like enrich 32 and still feed Timothy or whatever type of hay you give already.

Reignmaker - I guess I should be more specific- he is getting 2 cups of the Purina Mini horse & Pony feed.