What To Do With One Year Olds

Miniature Horse Talk Forums

Help Support Miniature Horse Talk Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreenMountainMinis

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to minis and new to the board. I have a 4 year old mini and I've been working with him on trick training and he's doing really well but now I have two one year old minis and eventually hope to start driving with them. At the moment though I'm clicker training them and getting them used to being handled, groomed and all different sights and sounds. Is that enough training for their age? How much training to you give to young minis? Also, if anyone has any books to recommend about training minis, I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

Hi there,

Alot of people have their different opinions working with young horses, sometimes they think you shouldn't do much with them at all. I'm different. I work with them on pivioting, backing, lounging, roundpenning, leading, tying. All kinds of things. The most important thing is to not over do it. Literally I train yearlings maybe a lil over 2 weeks and they are done. Sure you can always go over it but I mostly put the training in for those 2 weeks, I also give them breaks every so often. Alot of the times they will remember their training, or if they need to go over it the next year it is not that hard to retrain them for it. I say the training they get when they are younger the easier they are to train once they are older for example driving. I do alot more groundwork with them at 2 years.

Good luck!

Welcome to the forum!

I think the main thing to remember with youngsters - of any type - is to not put too much stress on their minds or bodies (especially legs of horse). But it sounds like you are off of a great start with clicker training!